Library Logo RELIGION IN AMERICA

D. Rogenmoser

Finding Books in EUREKA
Reference-General
American History
Denominations/Groups
Native Americans
African Americans
New Religions
Selected Journals
Databases & Indexes
Related CSUS Guides
Return to Library Home Page

FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA
EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library. Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.

Keyword Searching: Search for books in EUREKA is with a Keyword search.
For example:

                church and state and United States
                Sikhs and United States
                Asian Americans and religion
                religion and public policy
                religion and American culture
Back to the top of the page  

REFERENCE-General

Adherents.com (statistics)  http://www.adherents.com/index.html
Association of Religion Data Archives  http://www.thearda.com/
Beliefnet  http://www.beliefnet.com/
Contemporary American Religion  Ref BL 2525 .C65 2000
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society  http://hirr.hartsem.edu/ency/index.html
Encyclopedia of Religion in the South  Ref BR 535 .E52 1984
Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States  Ref BR 515 .E53 1997
The Ethnic Cultures of America: Religion and Education, Religion and the Workplace,
    a Reference Source for All Americans  Ref BL 65 .E75 F57 1997
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America  Ref E 184 .A1 G14 2000
Hartford Institute for Religion Research
    http://hirr.hartsem.edu/index.html
Media Coverage of Religion in America, 1969-1998
    http://www.clas.ufl.edu/users/kenwald/pos4291/spring_00/relig2000.htm
Modern American Popular Religion: a Critical Assessment & Annotated Bibliography
    Ref BL 2525 .L566 1996
Pluralism Project  http://www.fas.harvard.edu/~pluralsm/
Religion and the Law: a Dictionary  Ref KF 4865 .A68 A54 1999
Virtual Religion Index/American Studies  http://virtualreligion.net/vri/america.html
Yahoo Directory/Denomonations and Sects
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Religion_and_Spirituality/
    Faiths_and_Practices/Christianity/Denominations_and_Sects/
Yahoo Guide: Faiths and Practices
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Religion_and_Spirituality/Faiths_and_Practices/
  
Back to the top of the page  

AMERICAN HISTORY RESOURCES

American Religious Experience  http://are.as.wvu.edu/
Atlas of American Religion: the Denominational Era, 1776-1990  Ref BR 515 .N49 2000
Atlas of Religious Change in America, 1952-1990  Ref BR 148 .H3 1994
Dictionary of Christianity in America  Ref BR 515 .D53 1990
Divining America: Religion & the National Culture
    http://www.nhc.rtp.nc.us/tserve/divam.htm
The Encyclopedia of American Religions  Ref BL 2525 .M449 1999
Encyclopedia of American Religious History  Ref BL 2525 .Q44 1996
Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience: Studies of Traditions
     and Movements
 Ref BL 2525 .E53 1988
Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion  Ref BL 2525 .B45 1998
New Historical Atlas of Religion in America  Ref 2 South Atlas G 1201 .E4 N4 2001
Religion and the Founding of the American Republic
    http://lcweb.loc.gov/exhibits/religion/religion.html
The Routledge Historical Atlas of Religion in America  Ref G 1201 .E4 C3 2000
Virtual Religion Index/American Studies  http://virtualreligion.net/vri/america.html
  
Back to the top of the page  

DENOMINATIONS/GROUPS

American Religious Identification Survey
    http://www.gc.cuny.edu/faculty/research_studies/aris.pdf
A Directory of Religious Bodies in the United States  Ref BL 2530 .U6 M44
Handbook of Denominations in the United States  Ref BL 2525 .M425 1995
National Directory of Churches, Synagogues and Other Houses of Worship
    Ref BL 2525 .N38 1994
Official Denominational Web Sites
    http://hirr.hartsem.edu/denom/homepages.html
Religious Movements Page
    http://religiousmovements.lib.virginia.edu/profiles/listalpha.htm
Research on Orthodox Religious Groups in the US/Hartford Inst. for Religion Research
    http://hirr.hartsem.edu/research/orthodoxindex.html
  
Back to the top of the page  

NATIVE AMERICANS

The American Indian Ghost Dance, 1870 and 1890: an Annotated Bibliography
    Ref EZ 1209.2 .U52 G757 1991
Dictionary of Native American Mythology  Ref E 98 .R3 G46 1992
Encyclopedia of Native American Healing  Ref E 98 .M4 L96 1996
Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism: Sacred Ceremonies of North America
     Ref E 98 .M4 L98 1998
Mexican and Central American Mythology  Ref F 1219.3 .R38 N5 1985
Native American Anthology  http://www.wsu.edu:8000/~dee/NAANTH/NAREAD.HTM
Native American Religion in Early America
    http://www.nhc.rtp.nc.us/tserve/eighteen/ekeyinfo/natrel.htm
Native American Spirituality/Religious Tolerance.Org
    http://religioustolerance.org/nataspir.htm
Native American Spirituality & Religion  http://www.academicinfo.net/nativeamrelig.html
Native North American Shamanism: an Annotated Bibliography  Ref EZ 1209.2 .N67 O77 1998
NativeWeb/Religion and Spirituality
    http://www.nativeweb.org/resources/religion_spirituality/
Virtual Religion Index/American Studies  http://virtualreligion.net/vri/america.html
  
Back to the top of the page  

AFRICAN AMERICANS

African-American Religion:A Documentary History Project
    http://www.amherst.edu/~aardoc/menu.html
BlackandChristian.com  http://www.blackandchristian.com/
Black Churches/Religion Online
   http://www.religion-online.org/listbycategory.asp?Cat=99
Directory of African American Religious Bodies: a Compendium by the Howard University
    School of Divinity
 Ref BR 563 .N4 D57 1995
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions  Ref BL 2462.5 .E53 2001
Islam in the Black Community [Videorecording],  LMC Video 000530
Nation of Islam  http://www.noi.org/
North Star: A Journal of African American Religious History
    http://northstar.vassar.edu/index2.html
Reference Library of Black America, vol. 1-5 Ref E 185 .R44 1994
  
Back to the top of the page  

NEW RELIGIONS

Alternative Religions  http://altreligion.about.com/
American Communes to 1860 : a Bibliography HXZ 7164 .C69 D37 1990
American Communes, 1860-1960 : a Bibliography HXZ 7164 .C69 M54 1990
The Church of Christ, Scientist  http://www.tfccs.com/
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints  http://www.lds.org/
Cults in America: a Reference Handbook BL 2525 .L486 1998
The Illustrated encyclopedia of Active New Religions, Sects, and Cults BL 80.2 .B385 1998
The Encyclopedic Handbook of Cults in America BL 2525 .M45 1986
Jehovah's Witnesses  http://www.watchtower.org/
NPR: New Religions in America (A four part series) http://www.npr.org/
New Religious Movements  http://religiousmovements.lib.virginia.edu/
New Religious Movements/Hartford Inst. for Religion Research
    http://hirr.hartsem.edu/denom/new_religious_movements.html
New Religious Movements Gateway http://www.academicinfo.net/nrms.html
Religious Movements Page/Cult Group Controversies
    http://religiousmovements.lib.virginia.edu/cultsect/cultsect.htm
Religious Tolerance.org/Cults & New Religious Movements
    http://www.religioustolerance.org/cultmenu.htm
Scientology  http://www.scientology.org/
Yahoo Guide: Faiths and Practices
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Religion_and_Spirituality/Faiths_and_Practices/
  
Back to the top of the page  

SELECTED JOURNALS
Catholic Southwest: a Journal of History & Culture
    http://www.onr.com/user/cat/csw/
Electronic Journals for Religion http://ejw.i8.com/rele-j.htm
Journal of Religion and Popular Culture http://www.usask.ca/relst/jrpc/index.html
Journal of Southern Religion http://jsr.as.wvu.edu/2003/jsrlink6.htm
North Star: A Journal of African American Religious History
    http://northstar.vassar.edu/index2.html
Religion and American Culture
Electronic Journals for Religion http://ejw.i8.com/rele-j.htm
Online-Heidelberg Journal of Religions on the Internet http://online.uni-hd.de/
Religious Studies-Electronic Journals http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~lipton/journalss.html

See also: JOURNALS section of Related CSUS Guides
  
Back to the top of the page  

DATABASES & INDEXES
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

Print Indexes & Bibliographies
  • An Index to English Periodical Literature on the Old Testament and Ancient Near Eastern Studies vol 1-8  Ref BSZ 7772 A1 H86 1987
  • Humanities Index  2 North Index Area AI 3 R492 (1974/75-1999)
  • Judaism and Christianity: a Guide to the Reference Literature   Ref BMZ 6370 S78 1991
  • Recent Reference Books in Religion: A Guide for Students, Scholars, Researchers,
    Buyers and Readers
    Ref Z 7751 .J654 1998
  • Religion and Society in North America: An Annotated Bibliography
    Ref BLZ 7831 R44 1983
  • Religion and Theology: A Guide to Current Reference Resources Ref BLZ 7751 .M33 1997
  • Religious and Theological Abstracts  2 North Index Area BRZ 7753 R4 (1958-current)
  • Religion in American Life: Resources Ref BLZ 7757 .U5 R45 1989
  • Religion Index One: Periodicals  2 North Index Area BLZ 7753 A5 (1949-2001)
  • A Scholar’s Guide to Academic Journals in Religion Ref BLZ 7751 .D33 1998
Databases (Electronic Indexes)
  
Back to the top of the page  

RELATED CSUS GUIDES

See the Religion and Society Research Guide for topics like religion and law, religion and science, religon and media, etc.
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to: Ben Amata, , Reference Librarian; CSU, Sacramento
ts/dr Created 7/01 Last Updated 11/07