Library Logo RELIGION: JUDAISM
by D. Rogenmoser
CONTENTS:

FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA
EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library.  Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
  • Subject Searching: Library holdings can be found by entering Judaism as a SUBJECT.

  • Keyword Searching: Another way to locate materials in EUREKA is by Advanced Keyword searching. Use Advanced Keyword to search for books on topics such as:
        Judaism and law,
        Judaism and customs,
        Judaism and women, etc.

  • Browsing: Location and Call Numbers for browsing the shelves for books on Judaism
    are 2 South BM 1-BM 990 (circulating books) or 2 North Reference BM 1-BM 990.

    Historical parts of the Old Testament, the Pentateuch (Torah) and commentaries
    are located on 2 South BS 1221-BS 1225.

  • Juvenile Collection: Materials for children can be found by searching the topic
    Judaism in Advanced Keyword and limiting the search to the LOCATION
    Juvenile Fiction/Nonfiction.
  
Back to the top of the page  

GENERAL
Beliefnet/Judaism   http://www.beliefnet.com/index/index_10005.html
Biblical and Judaic Acronyms  Ref DS 102.8 M37
Chabad-Lubavitch http://www.chabad.org/
Dictionary of Jewish Biography Ref DS 115. W49 1991
Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period: 450 B.C.E. to 600 C.E. vol 1-2.
    Ref BM 50 D525 1996
Encyclopaedia Judaica  Ref DS 102.8 E5
The Encyclopedia of Judaism vol 1-3 Ref BM 50 E63 1999
Encyclopedia of Judaism  Ref BM 50 E63 1989
Encyclopedia of Religion vol 1-16   Ref BL 31 E46 1987
Exploring Religions: Judism(Univ of Wyoming)
     http://uwacadweb.uwyo.edu/religionet/er/judaism/index.htm
Gateway to Judaism vol 1-2  Ref BM 570 S57
H-Judaic: Jewish Studies Network   http://www2.h-net.msu.edu/~judaic/
Historical Dictionary of Judaism  Ref BM 50 S65 1998
Internet Resources for Jewish Studies
    http://www2.lib.udel.edu/subj/jew/internet.htm#judaism
JewishEncyclopedia.com
     http://www.jewishencyclopedia.com/index.jsp
The Jewish Religion: a Companion  Ref BM 50 J28 1995
Judaism 101  http://www.jewfaq.org/
Judaism and Jewish Resources   http://www.shamash.org/trb/judaism.html
MavenSearch: Judaism  http://www.maven.co.il/subjects.asp?S=111
Middle East and Jewish Studies/Judaism -Columbia Univ.
    http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/mideast/cuvlm/Judaism.html
Middle East Network Information Center (MENIC)-Judaism
    http://menic.utexas.edu/
The New Standard Jewish Encyclopedia  Ref DS 102.8 S73 1992
Orion Center for the Study of the Dead Sea Scrolls  http://orion.mscc.huji.ac.il/
Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion  Ref BM 50 O94 1997
RAMBI: Index to Articles on Jewish Studies   http://libnet1.ac.il/~libnet/rmb/rmb.htm
Reader's Guide to Judaism  Ref BM 50 R43 2000
Religious Worlds/Jewish Tradition(s)
    http://www.religiousworlds.com/jewish.html
Shamash: The Jewish Network  http://shamash.org/
Virtual Jerusalem/Judaism  http://www.virtualjerusalem.com/judaism/judaism.php
Virtual Religion Index: Jewish Studies      http://virtualreligion.net/vri/judaic.html
Wabash Center: select various topics
     http://www.wabashcenter.wabash.edu/resources/guide_headings.aspx
Yahoo Directory: Judaism
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Religion_and_Spirituality/Faiths_and_Practices/Judaism/
Yahoo Directory: Messianic Judaism
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Religion_and_Spirituality/Faiths_and_Practices/Messianic_Judaism/
  
Back to the top of the page  

SACRED TEXTS, COMMENTARIES, CONCORDANCES
Print copies of the Talmud, Torah, Mishnah and commentaries are located on
2 South 499-506. Historical parts of the Old Testament, the Pentateuch (Torah)
and commentaries are located on 2 South BS 1221-BS 1225.

A Concordance to the Septuagint and the Other Greek Versions of the Old Testament
    (including the Apocryphal books)
vol 1-2  Ref BS 1122 H3 1954
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls vol 1-2  Ref BM 487 E53 2000
An Expanded Hebrew Index for the Hatch-Redpath Concordance to the Septuagint
    Ref BS 1122 H3 INDEX
The Hebrew-English Old Testament  Ref BS 715 1705
Hebrew Text of the Tanach  http://shamash.org//tanach/text.html
The Holy Scriptures According to the Masoretic Text  Ref BS 895 J4 1959
Internet Sacred Texts Archive  http://www.sacred-texts.com/jud/index.htm
Otsar leshon ha-Mishnah, sefer ha-mit‘imot-konkor dantsiah le-shishah sidrai mishnah.
    Me-ha-dorah mitukenet alyadai ha-meh?aber ve-al yadai be-nu Mosheh

     (Thesaurus Mishnae) vol 1-4  Ref BM 500.5 K32
Navigating the Bible  http://www.bible.ort.org/default.asp
The Septuagint Bible, the oldest version of the Old Testament  Ref BS 742 T42 1954
Scrolls from the Dead Sea (Library of Congress)  http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/scrolls/toc.html
Subject Concordance to the Babylonian Talmud  Ref BM 500.5 G6
The Talmud: the Steinsaltz Edition  Ref BM 502.5 S74 1989
Tanach Divrei Torah -- Commentaries  http://shamash.org/tanach/dvar.shtml
Tanach Study Center http://www.tanach.org/
TorahNet.com   http://www.torah.net/eng/index.htm
Torah.org  http://www.torah.org
  
Back to the top of the page  

KABBALAH
Judaism 101: Kabbalah and Jewish Mysticism  http://www.jewfaq.org/kabbalah.htm
Kabbalah Links  http://www.kheper.net/topics/Kabbalah/Kabb_links.htm
Kabbalah Center  http://www.kabbalah.com/kabbalah/?cid=quigo
Kabbalah FAQ  http://www.digital-brilliance.com/kab/faq.htm
Wisdom of Kabbalah  http://www.kabbalah.info/
  
Back to the top of the page  

DATABASES & INDEXES
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

Print Indexes & Bibliographies
  • An Index to English Periodical Literature on the Old Testament and Ancient Near Eastern Studies vol 1-8  Ref BSZ 7772 A1 H86 1987
  • Jewish Folklore: an Annotated Bibliography  Ref GRZ 6374 F6 Y37 1986
  • Judaism and Christianity: a Guide to the Reference Literature   Ref BMZ 6370 S78 1991
  • Religion Index One: Periodicals  2 North Index Area BLZ 7753 A5 (1949-2001)
  • Religious and Theological Abstracts  2 North Index Area BRZ 7753 R4 (1958-current)
  • Humanities Index  2 North Index Area AI 3 R492 (1974/75-1999)
  • Religion and Society in North America: An Annotated Bibliography
    Ref BLZ 7831 R44 1983
Databases (Electronic Indexes)
  
Back to the top of the page  

JOURNALS
  
Back to the top of the page  

RELATED CSUS SUBJECT GUIDES
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to:  Ben Amata, , Reference Librarian; CSU, Sacramento
updated 11/07