Religion: Islam
Library Logo RELIGION: ISLAM
by D. Rogenmoser
CONTENTS:

FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA
EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library.  Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
  • Keyword Searching: Use keyword searching to search for books in EUREKA on topics such as:
        Islam* and customs,
        Islam* and law,
        Islam* and sects, etc.

    Remember to add an asterisk (*) after the word Islam to include the words Islamic or Islam's in your search.

  • Browsing: Location and Call Numbers for browsing the shelves for books on Islam are 2 South BP1-BP223 (circulating books) or 2 North Reference BP1-BP223.

  • Juvenile Collection: Materials for children can be found by searching the keyword Islam and searching the "juvenile collection" instead of the "entire collection."
  
Back to the top of the page  

GENERAL
Beliefnet/Islam   http://www.beliefnet.com/index/index_10004.html
A Brief Illustrated Guide to Understanding Islam  http://www.islam-guide.com/
Cultural Atlas of Islam  Ref DS 36.85 A39 1986
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world vol 1-2. Ref BP 40 E525 2004
The Encyclopedia of Religion vol 1-15. Ref BL 31 E46 2005
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures vol 1-2.  Ref HQ 1170 E53 2003
Encyclopaedia of the World Muslims: Tribes, Castes and Communities. vol 1-4
    Ref BP 50 E53 2001
Exploring Religions:Islam (Univ of Wyoming)
    http://uwacadweb.uwyo.edu/religionet/er/islam/index.htm
First Encyclopedia of Islam, 1913-1936 vol 1-9.  Ref DS 35.53 E53 1987
Historical Atlas of Islam  Ref G 1786 S1 R9 2004
Historical Dictionary of Islam  Ref BP 50 A33 2001
Introduction to the Articles and Pillars of Islam
    http://www.usc.edu/dept/MSA/fundamentals/pillars/intropillars.html
The Islam Page   http://www.islamworld.net/
MENALIB: Middle East Virtual Library - ALMISBAH
    http://ssgdoc.bibliothek.uni-halle.de/vlib/html/
Middle East and Jewish Studies/Islam
     http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/mideast/cuvlm/Islam.html
The Muslim Almanac: a Reference Work on the History, Faith, Culture, and Peoples of Islam
    Ref BP 40 M83 1996
The New Encyclopedia of Islam  Ref BP 40 G42 2001
One Ummah Network   http://www.oneummah.net/
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World vol 1-4.  Ref DS 35.53 O95 1995
Prof. Godlas' "Islam, Islamic Studies, Arabic, and Religion" Page
     http://www.uga.edu/islam/home.html
Religious Worlds/Muslim or Islamic Tradition(s)
    http://www.religiousworlds.com/muslim.html
The Shi'ite Encyclopedia  http://www.al-islam.org/encyclopedia/
Virtual Religion Index/Islamic Studies  http://virtualreligion.net/vri/islam.html
Yahoo Directory: Islam
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Religion_and_Spirituality/Faiths_and_Practices/Islam/
  
Back to the top of the page  

SACRED TEXTS, COMMENTARIES, CONCORDANCES

QUR'AN and HADITH
    Print copies of the Qur'an are located on 2 South BP 109-112
    Print copies of the Hadith are located on 2 South BP 135 A

A Concordance of the Qur'an  Ref BP 133 K37 1983
Compendium of Muslim Texts/MSA-USC   http://www.usc.edu/dept/MSA/
A Dictionary and Glossary of the Kor-an  Ref BP 133 .P4 1995
The Holy Qur'an: Text, Translation and Commentary  Ref BP 100 A5
Internet Sacred Texts Archive  http://www.sacred-texts.com/isl/index.htm
The Message of the Qur'an Presented in Perspective  Ref BP 109 A42
The Noble Qur'an  http://www.usc.edu/dept/MSA/quran/
The Quran: a New Interpretation  Ref BP 110 T87 1997
Qur'anic Recitation by Shaikh Khalil Hussary(IslamiCity)
    http://www.islamicity.com/multimedia/radio/ch100/
  
Back to the top of the page  

DATABASES & INDEXES
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

Print Indexes & Bibliographies
  • Index Islamicus Parts 1 & 2;1976-1980.  Ref DZ 7835 .M6 L6 suppl
  • Religion Index One: Periodicals  2 North Index Area BLZ 7753 .A5 (1949-current)
  • Religious and Theological Abstracts  2 North Index Area BRZ 7753 .R4 (1958-current)
  • Humanities Index  2 North Index Area AI 3 R492 (1974/75-1999)
  • Essay and General Literature Index  2 North Index Area AI 3 .E75
    (1900-2001 -see Database list below)
  • Religion and Society in North America: An Annotated Bibliography
    Ref BLZ 7831 R44 1983
Databases (Electronic Indexes)
  
Back to the top of the page  

JOURNALS
  
Back to the top of the page  

RELATED CSUS SUBJECT GUIDES
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to: Ben Amata, , Reference Librarian; CSU, Sacramento; drogenmoser@csus.edu
Created 6/03 Last updated 12/07