Library Logo RELIGION: Christianity
by D. Rogenmoser
CONTENTS:

FINDING BOOKS IN EUREKA
EUREKA is a catalog of items owned by the CSUS Library.  Books can be searched for in EUREKA by title, author, keyword and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
  • Subject Searching: Library holdings can be found by entering Christianity as a SUBJECT .

  • Keyword Searching: Another way to locate books in EUREKA is by Advanced Keyword searching. Use Advanced Keyword to search for books on topics such as:
        Christian* and customs,
        Christian* and politics,
        Christian* and women,
        Jesus Christ etc.

    Remember to add an asterisk (*) after the word Christian to include the words Christians or Christianity in your search.

  • Browsing: Location and Call Numbers for browsing the shelves for books on Christianity are 2 South BR1-BX9999(circulating books) or 2 North Reference BR1-BX9999.

  • Juvenile Collection: Materials for children can be found by searching the topic Christian* in Advanced Keyword and limiting the search to the LOCATION: Juvenile Fiction/Nonfiction.
  
Back to the top of the page  

GENERAL
Beliefnet/Christianity  http://www.beliefnet.com/christianity/
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought  Ref BR 95 B58 1993
Catholic Encyclopedia vol 1-15  Ref BX 841 C25
ChristSites  http://www.christsites.com/
Christian Denominations and Sects
   http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Religion_and_Spirituality/Faiths_and_Practices/
   Christianity/    Denominations_and_Sects/
Christian Traditions (GTU)  http://library.gtu.edu/links/christian.html
Christianity Today  http://www.christianitytoday.com/
Cyclopaedia of Biblical, Theological, and Ecclesiastical Literature vol 1-12.  Ref BR 95 M35 1968
Dictionary of Christian Lore & Legend  Ref BR 95 M47
Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs  Ref BR 66.5 D53 1998
Dictionary of Popes & the Papacy  Ref BX 955.3 L4913 2001
Dictionary of Women in Church History  Ref BR 1713 H33 1984
The Early Church: an Annotated Bibliography of Literature in English  Ref BR 162.2 R63 1993
Encyclopedia of American Catholic History  Ref BX 1406.2 E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Christianity vol 1-3  Ref BR 95 E8913 1999
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity  Ref BR 162.2 E53 1997 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Politics  ref BR 115 P7 E58 2006
Encyclopedia of Pentecostal and Charismatic Christianity   Ref BR 1644 E63 2006
The Encyclopedia of Religion vol 1-15  Ref BL 31 E46 2005
Encyclopedia of the Early Church vol 1-2  Ref BR 66.5 D5813 1992
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology  Ref BR 95 E87 1984
Exploring Religions: Christianity (Univ of Wyoming)
    http://uwacadweb.uwyo.edu/religionet/er/christ/index.htm
Fathers of the Church  http://www.newadvent.org/fathers/
Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America  http://www.goarch.org/en/ourfaith/
Hall of Church History  http://www.gty.org/~phil/hall.htm
Lives of the Saints vol 1-4  Ref BX 4654 B8 1956
New Catholic Encyclopedia vol 1-18  Ref BX 841 N44 1967
New Catholic Encyclopedia 2nd Ed. (ebook)
New International Dictionary of the Christian Church  Ref BR 95 D68 1978
The New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge vol 1-13. Ref BR 95 S43
Orthodox Christian Information Center  http://www.orthodoxinfo.com/
Orthodox World Links  http://www.theologic.com/links/
The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought  Ref BR 95 O94 2000
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation vol 1-4  Ref BR 302.8 O93 1996
Religious Worlds/Christian Traditions
   http://www.religiousworlds.com/christian.html
Virtual Religion Index: Christian Tradition  http://virtualreligion.net/vri/xnity.html
Vatican: Holy See  http://www.vatican.va/phome_en.htm
Wesley Center for Applied Theology http://wesley.nnu.edu/index.htm
Westminster Dictionary of Church History  Ref BR 95 W496
Women in the Biblical World: A Study Guide  Ref BSZ 7770 G77 1995

  
Back to the top of the page  

SACRED TEXTS, COMMENTARIES, CONCORDANCES
  • Print copies of the Bible, Commentaries, and Concordances are located on 2 South and 2 North Ref BS 1-2970.

  • Print copies of the Old Testament, Commentaries, Concordances are located on 2 South and 2 North Ref BS 701-1830.

  • Print copies of the New Testament, Commentaries, Concordances are located on 2 South and 2 North Ref BS 1901-2770.

The Anchor Bible Dictionary  ref BS 440 .A54 1992 vol 1-6
The Bible, King James Version http://etext.virginia.edu/kjv.browse.html
Bible Gateway.com  http://bible.gospelcom.net/
Calvin's Commentaries  http://www.ccel.org/c/calvin/comment3/comm_index.htm
A Concordance to the Septuagint and the Other Greek Versions of the Old Testament
    (including the Apocryphal books)
vol 1-2  Ref BS 1122 H3 1954
Gutenberg Bible/British Library  http://www.bl.uk/treasures/gutenberg/homepage.html
Internet Sacred Texts Archive  http://www.sacred-texts.com/isl/index.htm
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology vol 1-3  Ref BS 2397 N48
The New Interpreter's Bible  Ref BS 491.2 N484 1994 v.1-12
The New Interpreter's Bible: General Articles & Introduction, Commentary...including the
     Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books
 ref BS 491.2 .N484 1994 vol 1-12
Resource Pages for Biblical Studies  http://www.torreys.org/bible/
The Septuagint Bible, the oldest version of the Old Testament  Ref BS 742 T42 1954
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament vol 1-9  Ref BS 440 B5713
Virtual Christianity: Bibles http://www.internetdynamics.com/pub/vc/bibles.html
World Wide Study Bible  http://www.ccel.org/wwsb/
Yahoo Directory: Christianity
   http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Religion_and_Spirituality/Faiths_and_Practices/Christianity/
  
Back to the top of the page  

NONCANONICAL LITERATURE
A Concordance to the Septuagint and the Other Greek Versions of the Old Testament
    (including the Apocryphal books)
vol 1-2  Ref BS 1122 H3 1954
Early Christian Writings  http://www.earlychristianwritings.com/
Gnostic Society Library  http://www.gnosis.org/library.html
The New Interpreter's Bible: General Articles & Introduction, Commentary...including the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books
     ref BS 491.2 .N484 1994 vol 1-12
New Testament Gateway/Non-Canonical Christian Texts
     http://www.ntgateway.com/noncanon.htm
Noncanonical Literature (Wesley Center for Applied Theology)
    http://wesley.nnu.edu/biblical_studies/noncanon/index.htm
Old Testament Gateway/Noncanonical Book
     http://www.otgateway.com/noncanonical.htm
Scrolls from the Dead Sea (Library of Congress)  http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/scrolls/toc.html
  
Back to the top of the page  

DATABASES & INDEXES
Unless noted otherwise; electronic indexes are restricted to CSUS students, faculty, and staff. Instructions for off-campus access are available at
Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

Print Indexes & Bibliographies
  • An Index to English Periodical Literature on the Old Testament and Ancient Near Eastern Studies vol 1-8  Ref BSZ 7772 A1 H86 1987
  • Judaism and Christianity: a Guide to the Reference Literature   Ref BMZ 6370 S78 1991
  • Religion Index One: Periodicals  2 North Index Area BLZ 7753 A5 (1949-current)
  • Religious and Theological Abstracts  2 North Index Area BRZ 7753 R4 (1958-current)
  • Humanities Index  2 North Index Area AI 3 R492 (1974/75-1999)
  • Essay and General Literature Index  2 North Index Area AI 3 E75
    (1900-2001 -see Database list below)
  • Religion and Society in North America: An Annotated Bibliography
    Ref BLZ 7831 R44 1983
Databases (Electronic Indexes)
  
Back to the top of the page  

JOURNALS
  
Back to the top of the page  

RELATED CSUS SUBJECT GUIDES
Back to the top of the page
Go to Library Home Page

Questions/comments to:  Ben Amata, , Reference Librarian; CSU, Sacramento; Created 10/03 last updated 12/07