CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, SACRAMENTO

THE LIBRARY

 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE:  SELECTED SOURCES

Compiled by Ben Amata

 

RESEARCH GUIDES & HANDBOOKS

 

Library Research

      Criminal Justice Research in Libraries and on the Internet.  ref HVZ 5703.4 .C73 N45 1997

      Criminal Justice Information: How to Find It, How to Use It.  ref HV 7419.5 .C75 1998

   Annual Reviews

      Criminal Justice.  H 62 .A1 A4

      Crime and Justice.  HV 6016 .C93 v.1-7, 10, 12,14  Some volumes have individual titles

      Annual Review of Sociology.  ref HM 1 .A5  Some issues contain articles on criminology

   Research Methodology

      Books on criminology research methodology are classed under the call number HV 7419.5

     The Library of Congress Subject Headings lists subject terms to use in EUREKA:

         Criminal Justice, Administration of  Research Methodology

         Criminology Research Methodology

 

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS (selected)

 

5000 Criminal Definitions, Terms, and Phrases.  ref KF 9217 .F7 1968

Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice ref HV 6017 .D38 2002    

Crime Dictionary.  ref HV 6025 .D43 1988

Criminal Justice Dictionary.  ref HV 6017 .B4 1983

Criminal Justice Vocabulary.  ref HV 6017 .M37

Criminal Law and Justice Dictionary.   ref KF 9217 .F47 1992

Dictionary of American criminal justice : key terms and major supreme Court cases ref HV 7411 .C53 1998 

Dictionary of American Penology.  ref HV 9304 .W54 1996

Dictionary of Criminal Justice.   ref HV 7411 .R87 2003    

Dictionary of Criminal Justice Data Terminology.  ref HV 6017 .S4 1982

Dictionary of Criminal Justice Terms.  ref HV 7411 .D53 1998

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice.  Internet

Encyclopedia of criminology and deviant behavior ref Hv 6017 E53 2000  

Encyclopedia of murder & violent crime ref HV 6515 .E5323 2003 

Encyclopedia of World Crime: Criminal Justice, Criminology and Law Enforcement.

                  ref HV 6017 .N38 1990 v.1-6

Legal Terms and Concepts in Criminal Justice.  ref HV 6017. D3 

Police Dictionary and Encyclopedia.  ref HV 7901 .F39 1988

Roxbury Dictionary of Criminal Justice.  ref HV 7411 .C48 1997

Violence in America:an encyclopedia Hn 90 V5 V5474 1999  

World Encyclopedia of Organized Crime.  . HV 6017 .E54

 

 

INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS  http://library.csus.edu/databases/

Use to locate journal and magazine articles and books on criminal justice and related subject areas that exist but are necessarily here in the CSUS Library.

 

Criminal Justice:

        Criminal Justice Abstracts. 

        Criminal Justice Periodical Index.  

      NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Retrieval Service).  http://abstractsdb.ncjrs.org/content/AbstractsDB_Search.asp

Social Sciences:

       PsychINFO (literature in psychology).

       Sociology Abstracts (literature in sociology).

      Social Sciences Abstracts. (contains some full-text articles).

General

       InfoTrac:Expanded Academic (contains some full-text articles).

       EBSCOhost.  (contains some full-text articles).

       Articlefirst

       Ingenta.  

Government (U.S.)

      MarciveWeb.
      GPOACCESS

Law

      Lexis/Nexis.  (contains some full-text articles, laws, and court cases).

Statistics

      American Statistics Index. Index Area HAZ 7754 .U5 A46

      For U.S. Federal statistics

     Statistical Reference Index. Index Area HAZ 7554 .U5 S853

     Selected state’s statistics and non-governmental data

     Index to International Statistics. Index Area HAZ 7552 .I53

     International and regional governmental organizations

 

STATISTICAL SOURCES

 

United States

     Uniform Crime Reports for the United States.  ref HV 6787 .A3

      http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm         

     Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics.  ref HV 7248 .S6

      http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pubalp2.htm - sd          

      Crime in America’s Top-Rated Cities: a Statistical Profile.  ref HV 6787 .C74 1996

      Compendium of Federal Justice Statistics.  GovtDoc J/29.20:

California

      Dept. of Justice Statistics

       http://caag.state.ca.us/cjsc/datatabs.htm                

      Crime and Delinquency in California.  ref HV 6793 .C2 A32

       California Criminal Justice Profile. Sacramento County.  ref HV 7254 .A2

       Homicide in California.  ref HV 6533 .C2 A3

       California Institution Population Characteristics.  ref HV 8324 .A3

International

       Statistiques Criminales Internationales = International Crime Statistics.  ref HV 6208 .I57

 


PERIODICALS

 

Journals, magazines and newsletters are located on the 3 SOUTH arranged alphabetically from 1980 to current with pre-1980 volumes in the LOWER LEVEL. This is a selected list of journals that the Library subscribes to in criminal justice.  Use EUREKA to determine if the Library owns a particular title. Use the Journal Locator List, http://digital.lib.csus.edu/sfx/azlist.php, to determine if there is access electronically.

 


American Criminal Law Review

American Journal of Criminal Law

British Journal of Criminology

California Correctional News

California Highway Patrolman

Canadian Journal of Criminology

Corrections Digest

Corrections Today

Crime and Delinquency

Crime & Justice International

Crime Control Digest

Criminal Justice and Behavior

Criminal justice: CJ the international journal of policy and practice

Criminal Justice Ethics

Criminal Justice Newsletter

Criminal Justice Policy Review

Criminal Justice Review

Criminal law bulletin

Criminology

FBI law Enforcement Bulletin

Federal Probation

Howard Journal of Criminal Justice

International Criminal Police Review

International Journal of Comparative and Applied Criminal Justice

International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology

Journal of California Law Enforcement

Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice

Journal of Crime & Justice

Journal of Criminal Justice

Journal of Criminal Justice Education: JCJE

Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology

Journal of family violence

Journal of Forensic Sciences

Journal of Gang Research

Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency

Justice System Journal

Juvenile & family court journal

Juvenile and Family Law Digest

Law and Order

Liability Reporter

New England Journal on Criminal and Civil Confinement

Organized Crime Digest

Police Chief

Police Journal

Policing

Prison Service Journal

Probation Journal

Social Justice: a Journal of Crime, Conflict & World Order

Social Justice (San Francisco)

Studies in Conflict and Terrorism

Supreme Court Review

Terrorism and Political Violence

Violence and victims

Women & Criminal Justice

Women Police


 

INTERNET SITES

 

For a list of relevant sites for criminal justice consult Ben Amata’s Selected electronic Criminal Justice Web Resources

http://library.csus.edu/guides/amatab/CriminalJustice/ncjhp.htm

 

 BA/la 9/04