Researching the History of Photography in the CSUS Library

 

 

 

This guide will assist you in locating library materials including books and scholarly articles from journals on the subject of the history of photography.  This guide is meant to be introductory.  Please consult the Reference Desk staff if you have additional questions.

 

Using EUREKA

EUREKA is the library catalog at CSUS.  It contains information on all formats of materials available including books, periodicals, compact discs, CD-ROMs, videos and slides.  EUREKA can be accessed from any computer by using the address:  http://eureka.lib.csus.edu

 

Electronic Databases

The CSUS Library offers a number of different databases that are useful for finding articles on the topic of Photography.  You can be assured that the information you find in these databases is of high quality and reliability.  The databases listed below are available ONLY to CSUS users.  You can access them through any computer on campus. You can also use your home computer by following the instructions from the Databases and Periodicals page, when you click on  “Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources.”  You MUST have a Saclink account and password to access these databases from off-campus.

 

  • CSUS Library Databases and Periodical Indexes: 

Use this page to access the databases available to CSUS students and faculty.  You can also access specific information for photography by pulling the drop-down menu to design, under “Specific Subjects.” http://library.csus.edu/databases/ 

 

§          Grove Art Online is an electronic version of the Grove Dictionary of Art and includes access to images through ArtResource, Bridgeman Art Library, and links to museums and galleries.  You can search Grove Art Online for artists, techniques, styles, and periods.  Access is restricted to a small number of CSUS users.

  • InfoTrac SearchBank is a service that provides electronic access to databases on a variety of topics.  This database covers a wide variety of topics, but includes many scholarly journals on Design.  Many of the articles included are full-text and can be printed or emailed and include graphics.  Expanded Academic ASAP covers 1980 - present.
  • EBSCOHost:  EBSCOHost provides indexing and abstracting for over 3,000 periodicals including full-text for about 1,000.  Some newspapers are included.  This database also covers a broad variety of subjects.  Graphics are also included for many of the articles, which can be printed or emailed. 

 

  • Lexis-Nexis:  Academic Universe:  Lexis Academic Universe - Lexis delivers full text coverage of national and international news from hundreds of newspapers and newswires. Full-Text of the New York Times is accessed through this database.  Also available are medical abstracts (Medline), biographical information, reference and directory resources, and country profiles.

 

Using Print Indexes

Most electronic resources only cover back to the 1980s.  Therefore, if you need to do research on historical topics, you may need to consult a print index.  Also, we only have access to the Art Index, an important resource, in paper.  The following sources will help.

 

Art Index.  1929-Current.  2 North Index Area NZ 5937 .A78
ARTbibliographies MODERN.  1970-1999.  2 North Index Area NZ 5935 .A7
Bibliography of the History of Art:  B.H.A.  1991-Current.  Lower Level NZ 5937 .B53
R.I.L.A.:  International Repertory of the Literature of Art.  1975-1989.  Lower Level NZ 5931 .R2

 

Selected Websites

  • Library Homepage:  http://library.csus.edu
  • Style Guides:  http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/general/style.html
  • How to cite online resources: http://library.csus.edu/guides/bradleya/eography.htm
  • Design:  Selected Resources for Graphic Design, Interior Design, & Photography:  http://library.csus.edu/guides/alicia/design.htm
  • Center for Creative Photography:  http://www.library.arizona.edu/branches/ccp/home/home.html
  • Infomine:  This collection of scholarly Internet resources contains resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level.  http://library.csus.edu/infomine/

Selected Print Resources

 

American Women Photographers: A Selected and Annotated Bibliography. 

2 North Reference TRZ 7134 .K74 1999

Art Information and the Internet: How to Find it, How to Use it. 

2 North Reference  N 59 .J66 1999

A Bibliography of Writings by and about Women in Photography, 1850-1950.  2 North Reference  Z 7963 .P57 P17 1994

Burning with Desire: The Conception of Photography.  4 North TR15 .B37 1997

Contemporary Photographers.  2 North Reference  TR 139 .C664 1995

The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography.  2 North Reference   TR 9 .F6 1993

A History of Women Photographers.  4 North TR139 .R67 2000   

Index to American Photographic Collections: Compiled at the International Museum of Photography at George Eastman House. 

2 North Reference  TR 12 .M4 1990

An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers, 1940-1988. 

2 North Reference  TR139 .W55 1989

International Guide to Nineteenth-Century Photographers and Their Works: Based on Catalogues of Auction Houses and Dealers. 

2 North Reference  TR 15 .E48 1988

International Photography: George Eastman House Index to Photographers, Collections, and Exhibitions.  2 North Reference  TR 12 .E85 1998

Photographers: A Sourcebook for Historical Research: Featuring Richard Rudisill's Directories of Photographers: An Annotated Bibliography. 

2 North Reference  TR 15 .P477 2000

Photography: A Cultural History.  4 North TR15 .M273 2002

The Photography Encyclopedia.  2 North Reference  TR 9 .M39 1999

Photography index: A Guide to Reproductions.  2 North Reference TR 199 .P37

Photography and Literature: An International Bibliography of Monographs. 

2 North Reference   Z 1023 .L33 1992

Specimens and Marvels: William Henry Fox Talbot and the Invention of Photography.  4 North TR651 .T34 2000

A World History of Photography.  4 North TR15 .R67 1997

 

Prepared by Alicia Patrice, Fine Arts Librarian

278-7999, alicias@csus.edu

9/13/2005