Go to the CSUS Library Website Design:  Selected Resources for Graphic Design, Interior Design, & Photography
Alicia Patrice
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Practical Resources
Graphic Design Periodical Indexes & Abstracts
Interior Design Links
Photography  

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Design Encyclopedia. 2 North  Reference   NK 1370 .B93 1994

Dictionary of 20th-Century Design. 2 North  Reference   NK 1390 .P53 1990

Encyclopedia of Interior Design. 2 North  Reference   NK 1165 .E48 1997 v. 1-2

Oxford Companion to the Decorative Arts. 2 North  Reference   NK 30 .O93 1985

Penguin Dictionary of Decorative Arts. New ed. 2 North  Reference   NK 28 .F64 1989

Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of 20th Century Design and Designers.  
2 North  Reference    NK 1166 .J8 1993

The Dictionary of Art.  34 v.  2 North Reference N 31 .D5 1996.  Also available online to CSUS users through the Database & Periodical Indexes page at:  http://db.lib.csus.edu/databases/

Graphic Design

The Graphic Designer's Guide to Creative Marketing: Finding & Keeping Your Best Clients.  3 North   NC 1001.6 .B68 1999

Contemporary Graphic Artists. 1986-88. 2 North  Reference   NC 45 .C6 v. 1-3

The Design Firm Directory (Graphics and Industrial Design Ed.). 1994. 

2 North  Reference   TS 23 .D474

Design Writing Research : Writing on Graphic Design. 4 North   Z 246 .L86 1996

Artist's and Graphic Designer's Market. 2 North  Reference  N 8600 .A75 2003

Business of Graphic Design: A Sensible Approach to Marketing and Managing a Graphic Design Firm. Rev. ed. 3 North   NC 1001.6 .G65 1995

Graphic Artists Guild Handbook. 9th ed. 3 North   NC 1001.6 .G7 1997

Graphic Design Sources.  3 North   NC 1000 .H55 1998

Graphic Designer’s Handbook. Rev. ed. 2 North  Reference  Z 253 .C267 1988  

The Graphic Designer's Ultimate Resource Directory.   2 North Reference  

NC 999 .E825 1999

Graphic Artists Guild Handbook: Pricing & Ethical Guidelines.  2 North Reference 

NC 1001.6 .G7 2001 

The Big Book of Logos. 3.  2 North Reference  NC 1002 .L63 B545 2002 

Interior Design

Interior Design Sourcebook: A Guide to Resources on the History and Practice of Interior Design.  2 North  Reference    NK 1705 .L49 1998

Interior Design Visual Presentation: A Guide to Graphics, Models and Presentation Techniques.  3 North   NK 2113.5 .M58 1999

Who's Who in Interior Design. 2 North  Reference   NK 2004.2 .W48 1988-99

Contemporary Designers. 3rd ed. 2 North  Reference   NK 1166 .C66 1997

The Design Firm Directory (Environmental and Interior Design Ed.).  2 North  Reference   NK 1167 .D47 1993

ASID, American Society of Interior Designers Professional Practice Manual.  
3 North   NK 2116 .A85 1992

Professional Practice for Interior Designers. 3rd ed. 3 North   NK 2116 .P5 2002

Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning.  2 North Reference  

NK 2110 .T48 2001 

IDEC Comprehensive Bibliography for Interior Design.  2 North Reference  

NK 2110 .C565 1984 

Interior Graphic and Design Standards.  2 North Reference  NA 2708 .R49 1986 

Time-Saver Standards for Housing and Residential Development.  2 North Reference  

NA 9051 .T55 1995 

Photography

Photographers: A Sourcebook for Historical Research: Featuring Richard Rudisill's Directories of Photographers: An Annotated Bibliography.  2 North  Reference    

TR 15 .P477 2000

The Photography Encyclopedia.  2 North  Reference    TR 9 .M39 1999

International Photography: George Eastman House Index to Photographers, Collections, and Exhibitions.  3 vols.  2 North  Reference    TR 12 .E85 1998

Photographer's Resource: The Watson-Guptill Guide to Workshops, Conferences, Artists' Colonies, Academic Programs, Digital Imaging Programs, On-the-Road Programs.  2 North  Reference    TR 161 .C65 1997

Contemporary Photographers.  2 North  Reference    TR 139 .C664 1995

A Bibliography of Writings by and about Women in Photography, 1850-1950.  
2 North  Reference    Z 7963 .P57 P17 1994
A World History of Photography.  4 North  TR 15 .R67 1997
A New History of Photography.  4 North  TR 15 .N6813 1998
Photographer's Market.  2 North Reference  TR 12 .P515 2003
The Encyclopedia of Photography: An A-to-Z Visual Directory, with an Inspirational Gallery of Finished Works.  2 North Reference  TR 146 .D248 2000
American Women Photographers: A Selected and Annotated Bibliography.  2 North Reference  TRZ 7134 .K74 1999
International Guide to Nineteenth-Century Photographers and Their Works: Based on Catalogues of Auction Houses and Dealers.  2 North Reference  TR 15 .E48 1988

An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers, 1940-1988.  2 North Reference  TR 139 .W55 1989

Health Hazards for Photographers.  2 North Reference  TR 212 .R46 1992 

The Photographer's Bible: An Encyclopedic Reference Manual.  2 North Reference  

TR 9 .P58 1983 

Practical Resources

Legal Guide for the Visual Artist.  2 North  Reference    KF 390 .A7 C73 1999

Seventh Bi-Annual National Directory of Arts Internships.  2 North  Reference    

NX 280 .N37 1998

Artist's Resource: The Watson-Guptill Guide to Academic Programs, Artists' Colonies and Artist-in-Residence Programs, Conferences, Workshops.  2 North  Reference    

N 8600 .C49 1999

Art Information and the Internet: How to Find it, How to Use it.  2 North  Reference    

N 59 .J66 1999

Ramsey/Sleeper Architectural Graphic Standards.  2 North Reference   TH 2031 .R35 2000

Building Construction Illustrated.  4 North  TH 146 .C52 2001 

Periodical Indexes & Abstracts

Use the following resources to find scholarly articles.

Art Index.  1929-Current.  2 North Index Area NZ 5937 .A78
ARTbibliographies MODERN.  1970-1999.  2 North Index Area NZ 5935 .A7
Bibliography of the History of Art:  B.H.A.  1991-Current.  LOWER LEVEL NZ 5937 .B53
R.I.L.A.:  International Repertory of the Literature of Art.  1975-1989.  15 v. & indexes 
LOWER LEVEL NZ 5931 .R2

The following Electronic Resources can be accessed by CSUS Users through the Library's Databases and Periodical Indexes page found at: http://db.lib.csus.edu/databases/

  • Art Full Text: This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.

  • InfoTrac SearchBank is a service that provides electronic access to databases on a variety of topics. 

- Expanded Academic ASAP covers 1980 - present.

Use this database to find information on: Astronomy, Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communications and the General Sciences.  

  • EBSCOHost:  EBSCO Publishing is a leading producer of electronic databases for libraries, schools, corporations and consumers worldwide. EBSCOHost provides indexing and abstracting for over 3,000 periodicals including full-text for about 1,000.  

  • Lexis-Nexis:  Academic Universe:  Lexis Academic Universe - A major source of full text legal information: U.S. and State codes, court rules, court cases, and a large library of law reviews. Lexis delivers full text coverage of national and international news from hundreds of newspapers and newswires. Company reports including SEC reports are available along with industry and market news. Also available are medical abstracts (Medline), biographical information, reference and directory resources, and country profiles.

Links

Interior Design

Graphic Design

Photography

Return to Top of Page

Return to the Library's Databases and Periodical Indexes


Send questions, comments or suggestions to:
Alicia Patrice
alicia.patrice @ csus. edu

Copyright@2001-2003 Alicia Patrice - California State University, Sacramento

Updated: