Go to the CSUS Library Website CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, SACRAMENTO
THE LIBRARY


Dance: A Guide to Research
 Compiled by Alicia
Patrice



Use EUREKA to find books and other materials
Books and other materials at CSUS Library can be searched in EUREKA by keyword, author, title, or subject. Library of Congress Subject Headings are specific terms to use for a subject search in EUREKA and are sometimes difficult to figure out. You might start with a keyword search.

DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, AND DIRECTORIES

Biographical Dictionary of Dance.  2 North Reference GV 1785 .A1 C58 1982
Dance Directory:  Programs of Professional Preparation in American 
    Colleges and Universities.
1997/98.   2 North Reference GV 1754 .A1 D3
Dancer's Resource:  The Watson-Guptill Guide to Academic Programs,
    Internships and Apprentice Programs, Residential and Artist-In-Residence
    Programs, Studio Schools and Private Teachers, Workshops and 
    Festivals.
  2 North Reference GV 1589 .J65 1999
Directory of Doctoral Programs in Theatre Studies, Performance Studies, and
Dance, U.S.A. and Canada.
2nd ed.   2 North Reference PN 2078 .U6 D515 1999
Fifty Contemporary Choreographers.   2 North Reference GV 1785 .A1 B74 1999
The Gail Grant Dictionary of Classical Ballet in Labanotation
     2 North Reference GV 1787 .M54
International Dictionary of Ballet.  2 v. 2 North Reference GV 1585 .I57 1993
International Dictionary of Modern Dance.   2 North Reference GV 1585 .B46 1998
International Encyclopedia of Dance:  A Project of Dance Perspectives
    Foundation, Inc.
2 North Reference GV 1585 .I586 1998
Stern's Performing Arts Directory. 2 North Reference GV 1580 .D247 1993
The Tap Dance Dictionary. 2 North Reference GV 1794 .K66 1998

INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS

Ballet Plot Index:  A Guide to Locating Plots and Descriptions of Ballets and
    Associated Material.
2 North Reference GV 1790 .A1 S77 1987
Bibliographic Guide to Dance. 2 v.   2 North Reference GVZ 7514 .D2 N462 1978 & 1979
Dance/Movement Therapy Abstracts. 1992.  2 North Reference RC 489 .D3 D35
Research in Dance. 1968-1973. 4 suppl. 2 North Reference GVZ 7514 .D2 A48

The following Electronic Resources are available to CSUS users and can be accessed through the Library's Databases and Periodical Indexes page found at http://db.lib.csus.edu/databases/
Ebscohost:  For CSUS users only.  
Lexis-Nexis:  For CSUS users only. 


GENERAL REFERENCE SOURCES

Balanchine’s New Complete Stories of the Great Ballets. 
   
2 North Reference GV 1787 .B3 1968
Ballet Guide:  Background, Listings, Credits, and Descriptions of More than
    Five Hundred of the World's Major Ballets.
1976. 2 North Reference GV 1790 .A1 T47
Black Dance from 1619 to Today.  2 South GV 1624.7 .A34 E43 1988
Choreography by George Balanchine:  A Catalogue of Works. 1st ed.
    2 North Reference GV 1785 .B32 A2 1983

BIBLIOGRAPHY

A Bibliography of Dancing. 2 South GVZ 7514 .D2 B3 1963
A Bibliography of Dancing; A List of Books and Articles on the Dance and
    Related Subjects. 
2 South GVZ 7514.D2 M2 1966 
Black Dance:  An Annotated Bibliography.   2 North Reference GVZ 7514 .D2 A33 1989
Dance:  An Annotated Bibliography, 1965-1982.   2 North Reference GVZ 7514 .D2 F58 1986
The Music and Dance of the World's Religions:  A Comprehensive, Annotated
    Bibliography of Materials in the English Language
.   
    2 North Reference ML 128 .S17 R87 1996
Research in Dance:  A Guide to Resources.   2 North Reference GVZ 7514 .D2 B6 1994          

INTERNET RESOURCES

American Ballet Theater:  http://www.abt.org/

Artslynx International Dance Resources:  http://www.artslynx.org/dance/

Dance Books, Ltd.:  http://www.dancebooks.co.uk/

Dance Heritage Coalition:  http://www.danceheritage.org/

Dance Research Resources:  http://digilib.nypl.org/dynaweb/dhc/findaid

Paul Taylor Dance Company: http://www.ptdc.org/

Society of Dance History Scholars:  http://www.sdhs.org/

The Dance Insider Online:  http://www.danceinsider.com/


Return to Top of Page

Return to CSUS Library Databases & Periodical Indexes

Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Alicia Patrice alicia.patrice @ csus. edu
Room 2502, Library
916.278.7999

Copyright@2001-2007 Alicia Patrice - California State University, Sacramento

Updated:

html by Lynn O'Farrell