Go to the CSUS Library Website CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY,
THE LIBRARY

Art History:  Selected References
Compiled by Alicia Patrice



ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

The Dictionary of Art.  34 v.  2 North Reference N 31 .D5 1996.  Also available online as Oxford Art Online to CSUS users through the Database & Periodical Indexes page at:  http://db.lib.csus.edu/databases/
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography:  Themes Depicted in Works of Art.  2 v.
2 North Reference N 7560 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Medieval Church Art.  2 North Reference N 6763 .T37 1993
Encyclopedia of World Art.  1959-1968.  17 v.  2 North Reference N 31 .E533 
From Abacus to Zeus:  A Handbook of Art History.  2 North Reference  N 33 .P5 1995
Larousse Encyclopedia of Prehistoric and Ancient Art.  3 North N 5300 .H953 1966a
Oxford Dictionary of Art.  New ed.  2 North Reference N 33 .O93 1997
Benezit, E.  Dictionnaire Critique et Documentaire des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs et Graveurs.  14 v.  2 North Reference  N 40 .B47 1999 
Looking at Paintings: A Guide to Technical Terms.  2 North Reference  ND 31 .C37 1992
Looking at Prints, Drawings, and Watercolours: A Guide to Technical Terms.   
2 North Reference N 33 .G65 1988  
German-English Dictionary, Art History-Archaeology.    2 North Reference  N 33 .A74 
A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art.  2 North Reference N 6490 .C5317 1998

BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES

Artist Biographies Master Index.  2 North Reference N 40 .A78 1986
Biographical Dictionary of Women Artists in Europe and America Since 1850. 
2 North Reference N 6757 .D86 1990
Contemporary Artists.  5th ed.  2 v.  2 North Reference N 6490 .C6567 2001
Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists.  6th ed.  
2 North Reference N 6536 .C8 1994
Dictionary of Women Artists.  2 v.  2 North Reference N 8354 .D53 1997 
Index to Artistic Biography.  1973.  2 v. & Suppl. 1981.  2 North Reference N 40 .H38 
St. James Guide to Black Artists. 2 North Reference N 40 .S78 1997
Thieme, Ulrich, and Felix Becker.  Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von 
der Antike bis zur Gegenwart. 
1907-1950.  37 v.  2 North Reference N 40 .T4 and
1953-62.  6 v.  2 North Reference N 40 .T42
Who's Who in American Art.  1953-Current.  2 North Reference N 6536 .W5
World Artists, 1950-1980; 1980-1990.  2 North Reference N 6489 .W67 1984 & 1991

GUIDES AND BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Art Books:  A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists.  2nd ed. 
2 North Reference NZ 5938 .F73 1997
Art Information and the Internet:  How to Find It, How to Use It.  
2 North Reference N 59 .J66 1999
Bibliography of Gay and Lesbian Art.  2 North Reference N 72 .H64 C64 1994
Feminist Art Criticism:  An Annotated Bibliography.  3 North NZ 5956 .F44 L36 1993
Fine Arts:  A Bibliographic Guide.  3rd ed.  2 North Reference NZ 5931 .E47 1990

PRINT INDEXES

Art Index.  1929-Current.  2 North Index Area NZ 5937 .A78
ARTbibliographies MODERN.  1970-Current.  2 North Index Area NZ 5935 .A7
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art).  1991-Current.  2 North Index Area NZ 5937 .B53
R.I.L.A.:  International Repertory of the Literature of Art.  1975-1989.  15 v.
2 North Index Area NZ 5931 .R2 
Twentieth Century Artists on Art:  An Index to Writings, Statements and Interviews 
by Artists, Architects and Designers. 
2nd ed.  2 North Reference NX 456 .R59 1996

ONLINE PERIODICAL DATABASES

The following databases are suggested for research in Art History and can be accessed through the Library's Database and Periodicals Index page located at:  http://db.lib.csus.edu/databases/
Art Full Text
EBSCOhost

Lexis-Nexis


HISTORY AND CRITICISM


After the End of Art:  Contemporary Art and the Pale of History.  
3 North N 7480 .D33 1997
Art of Art History:  A Critical Anthology.  3 North N 380 .A78 1998
Criticizing Art:  Understanding the Contemporary.  2 North Reference N 7476 .B38 2000
History, Theory and Practice of Art Criticism in Art Education.  
3 North N 7476 .C76 1990
The Methodologies of Art.  3 North N 7480 .A32 1996
Our Beautiful, Dry, and Distant Texts:  Art History as Writing.  
3 North N 7480 .E44 1997
Past Looking:  The Historical Imagination and the Rhetoric of the Image.  
3 North N 71 .H63 1996
Principles of Art History Writing.  3 North N 380 .C37 1991
Re-Visions:  New Perspectives of Art Criticism.  3 North N 7475 .R4 1991
State of 'Theory':  History, Art, and Critical Discourse.  2 South BH 201 .S58 1990
Women, Art and Society.  2nd rev. & expanded ed.  3 North N 8354 .C48 1997
The Oxford History of Western Art.  3 North  N 5300 .O96 2000
The Social History of Art.  3 North  N 72 .S6 H3613 1999

SOME ART HISTORY WEBSITES

ArtSource. http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html
The Varo Registry of Women Artists
http://www.varoregistry.com
Art History Research Centre.  http://art-history.concordia.ca/AHRC/
Musee.  http://www.musee-online.org/
ArtLex:  Art Dictionary.  http://www.artlex.com/
Art History Resources on the Web.  http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html
A Biographical Dictionary of Historians, Museum Directors and Scholars of Art.  http://www.dictionaryofarthistorians.org/
Mother of All Art History Link Pages  
http://www.art-design.umich.edu/mother/


EUREKA (ONLINE CATALOG)


EUREKA lists books and media materials by author, title, and subject.  The following subject headings represent a small sample of terms used for art history subjects.  It is usually best to find a book that you are interested in and then look to see what the subject heading is listed as in EUREKA.  You can visit EUREKA at:  http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/

Sample Subject Headings:

ART - HISTORY DRAWING, FRENCH (BAROQUE, ETC.)
ART, GOTHIC (RENAISSANCE, ETC.) EXPRESSIONISM (ART)
ART, MODERN - 20TH CENTURY GRAPHIC ARTS
ART, SPANISH (AFRICAN, AUSTRALIAN, ETC.) MODERNISM (ART)
ART AND SOCIETY PAINTING, AMERICAN (CHINESE, PRIMITIVE, ETC.)
ART CRITICISM ROCK PAINTINGS
ART FOR ART'S SAKE (MOVEMENT) SCULPTURE, AFRICAN (CLASSICAL, BRITISH, ETC.)
AVANTE-GARDE (AESTHETICS)

Call Numbers for Art Subjects:

N Visual Arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing. Design. Illustration.
ND Painting
NE Print Media
NK Decorative Arts. Applied Arts. Decoration and Ornament
NX Arts in General

ART PICTURE COLLECTION

This collection is located on the Second Floor in the Reference Department. A variety of mounted art reproductions is available for classroom or studio use.

SLIDE COLLECTION

The CSUS Library maintains an extensive collection of slides. These materials are indexed in EUREKA and available in the Slide Collection in Room 1526, Library Media Center.


Return to Top of Page

Return to CSUS Library Databases & Periodical Indexes

Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Alicia Patrice alicia.patrice @ csus. edu

Copyright@2001-2007 Alicia Patrice - California State University, Sacramento

Updated:

html by Lynn O'Farrell