CSUS Library Logo CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY,
THE LIBRARY

Art Education:  Selected References
Compiled by Susan Beelick, Revised by Alicia Patrice



TEACHER RESOURCES

Advice to Young Artists in a Postmodern Era.  3 North N 8350 .D86 1998
Art Teacher's Book of Lists.
  3 North N 7438 .H86 1998
Beyond the School: Community and Institutional Partnerships in Art Education.  
    
3 North N 350 .B49 1999
Bridging the Curriculum through Art: Interdisciplinary Connections.  2 South Curriculum Guides Art 9336
Celebrating Pluralism:  Art, Education, and Cultural Diversity. 
    
3 North N 362 .C43 1996
Children's Books about Art:  An Annotated Bibliography with Classroom Activities.
 
     2 North Reference NZ 5935.5 .I58 1992
Contemporary Art and Multicultural Education.  3 North N 353 .C66 1996
Creating Meaning through Art. 
3 North N 88.3 .C74 1998
Critical Art Pedagogy: Foundations for Postmodern Art Education.  
     3 North N 84 .C37 1998
Cultural Diversity and the Structure and Practice of Art Education.  
     3 North N 85 .M244 1998
Curriculum, Culture, and Art Education:  Comparative Perspectives.
 
     3 North N 85 .C87 1998
Design for Inquiry: Instructional Theory Research and Practice in Art Education.
  
     3 North N 85 .D44 1997
Excellence II:  The Continuing Quest in Art Education.
3 North N 353 .S652 1995
Exemplary Art Education Curricula:  A Guide to Guides.
  
     1 North Reserve Book Room N 85 .N374 1994
Internet Activities:  Glencoe Art Series Internet Activities.  
    
2 South Curriculum Texts 700 .G48in2 1999
History, Theory, and Practice of Art Criticism in Art Education. 
    
3 North N 7476 .C76 1990
John Dewey and the Lessons of Art.  2 South B 945 .D4 J33 1998
Learning In and Through Art:  A Guide to Discipline-Based Art Education.
 
     3 North N 105 .D64 1998
Literature for the Visual and Performing Arts:  Kindergarten Thru Grade Twelve.
    
1996.  2 South Curriculum Guide Art 0062
Philosophy of Art Education.  3 North N 84 .F46 1996
Preservice Art Education:  Issues and Practice.  3 North LB 1715 .P74 1995
Quiet Evolution:  Changing the Face of Arts Education.  3 North N 108 .W55 1997
Research Methods and Methodologies for Art Education.  3 North N 85 .R48 1997
Student Art Exhibitions: New Ideas and Approaches.  3 North N 350 .S84 2001
Teaching Art:  Academies and Schools from Vasari to Albers.  
    
3 North N 85 .G62 1996
Visual Arts Teacher Resource Handbook.  3 North N 353 .V59 1993

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

The Dictionary of Art.  34 v.  2 North Reference N 31 .D5 1996.  Also available online as Oxford Art Online to CSUS users through the Database & Periodical Indexes page at:  http://db.lib.csus.edu/databases/
Oxford Dictionary of Art.  New ed.  2 North Reference N 33 .O93 1997
A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art.  2 North Reference N 6490 .C5317 1998

SOME WEB RESOURCES FOR ART EDUCATION

Education:  Materials of Interest To Secondary Visual And Performing Arts Teachers.  http://library.csus.edu/guides/rogenmoserd/educ/artteacher.htm
ArtSource. 
http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html
Fine Art Forum.  http://www.msstate.edu/Fineart_Online/art-resources
Getty ArtsEdNet. http://www.getty.edu/artsednet/
INFOMINE:  Scholarly Internet Resources Collections. http://library.csus.edu/infomine
National Art Education Association.  http://www.naea-reston.org/
Art Education and ArtEdventures from Sanford.  http://www.sanford-artedventures.com/
Crayola Educator Features.  http://www.crayola.com/educators/
The California Art Education Association.  http://www.caea-arteducation.org/

INDEXES

Art Index.  1929-Current.  2 North Index Area NZ 5937 .A78
ARTbibliographies MODERN.  1970-Current.  2 North Index Area NZ 5935 .A7
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art).  1991-Current.  2 North Index Area NZ 5937 .B53
R.I.L.A.:  International Repertory of the Literature of Art.  1975-1989.  15 v.
2 North Index Area NZ 5931 .R2 
Twentieth Century Artists on Art:  An Index to Writings, Statements and Interviews 
by Artists, Architects and Designers. 
2nd ed.  2 North Reference NX 456 .R59 1996

ONLINE DATABASES

The following databases are suggested for research in Art Education and can be accessed through the Library's Database and Periodicals Index page located at:  http://db.lib.csus.edu/databases/
Art Full Text
ERIC
EBSCOhost

Lexis-Nexis


EUREKA (COMPUTER CATALOG)

EUREKA lists books and media materials by author, title and subject. The Library of Congress Subject Headings, a five-volume set located on 2 North near the Reference Desk, is the standardized list of terms used as subject headings in EUREKA.  Visit EUREKA at http://eureka.lib.csus.edu/

CURRICULUM MATERIAL

The Curriculum Collection (2 South) contains textbooks (K-12), juvenile books through young adult, non-print materials and curriculum guides. CSUS Library is the depository for curriculum materials collected at the annual conference of the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD). 

MEDIA

The Library Media Center (1 South) has videos on many different aspects of art, including education.  Media materials can be located by using EUREKA.

ILLUSTRATIONS

A variety of mounted art reproductions, arranged by nationality of artist, are available for classroom use. In addition there are study prints, pictures and posters. They are filed in picture files near the Curriculum area (2 South).

An extensive Slide Collection of paintings, drawings, ceramics, architecture, and other art work is indexed in EUREKA and located in the Library Media Center.


Return to Top of Page

Return to CSUS Library Databases & Periodical Indexes

Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Alicia Patrice alicia.patrice @ csus. edu

Copyright@2001-2007 Alicia Patrice - California State University, Sacramento

Updated:

html by Lynn O'Farrell