CSUS Library Logo CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY,
THE LIBRARY

Art:  Selected References
Compiled by Susan Beelick, Revised by Alicia Patrice

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

The Dictionary of Art.  34 v.  2 North Reference N 31 .D5 1996.  Also available online as Oxford Art Online to CSUS users through the Database & Periodical Indexes page at:  http://db.lib.csus.edu/databases/
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography:  Themes Depicted in Works of Art. 
    2 v.  2 North Reference N 7560 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of World Art.   17 v.  2 North Reference N 31 .E533
Pronunciation Dictionary of Artists' Names.  3rd ed.  2 North Reference N 40 .K3 1993
The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists.  2 North Reference N 33 .L353 2000
The Oxford Dictionary of Art.  New ed.  2 North Reference N 33 .O93 1997
Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists.  2 North Reference N 33 .T53 1994
A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art.  2 North Reference N 6490 .C5317 1998

BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES

Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart. 1907-1950.  37 v.  2 North Reference N 40 .T4
Artist Biographies Master Index.  2 North Reference N 40 .A78 1986
Biography Index.  1946-Current.  2 North Index Area CTZ 5301 .B5
Dictionary of Women Artists.  2 v.  2 North Reference N 8354 .D53 1997 
Dictionnaire Critique et Documentaire des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs et Graveurs.  14 v.  2 North Reference N 40 .B47 1999
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century:  A Biographical Dictionary. 
   
2 North Reference N 6503 .N67 1995
St. James Guide to Black Artists.  2 North Reference N 40 .S78 1997
Who Was Who in American Art.  2 North Reference N 6512 .F26 1985
Who's Who in American Art.  1953-Current.  2 North Reference N 6536 .W5
World Artists 1950-1980, 1980-1990.  2 North Reference N 6489 .W67 1984 & 1991
Index to Artistic Biography.  2 v. +supp.  2 North Reference N 40 .H38
Contemporary Women Artists.  2 North Reference N 8354 .C66 1999
Dictionary of Women Artists: An International Dictionary of Women Artists Born Before 1900.  2 North Reference N 43 .P47 1985
An Encyclopedia of Women Artists of the American West.  
2 North Reference N 8214.5 .U6 K68 1998
A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes.  2nd ed.  2 North Reference NX 456 .K67 2000

CRITICISM

Modern Arts Criticism.  1991.  4 v.  2 North Reference N 6489 .M6

DIRECTORIES

American Art Directory.  Current.  2 North Reference N 50 .A54
Art Student's College Guide.  2 North Reference N 328 .S94 1996
Artists and Writers Colonies.  2 North Reference NX 110 .B695 1995
Artists' Communities.  2nd ed.  2 North Reference NX 1110 .A767 2000
Dir. of Artist Associations and Exhibition Spaces.  2 North Reference N 8710 .D57 1990
Directory of Fine Art Representatives and Corporations Collecting Art.  2nd ed. 
    2 North Reference N 8410 .D57 1990
Guide to Arts Administration Training.  1995-97.  2 North Reference NX 765 .S85
International Directory of Arts.  2 v.  2 North Reference N 50 .I6 1995/96
The Official Museum Directory.  Current.  2 North Reference AM 10 .A2 O4
The 100 Best Small Art Towns in America.  2 North Reference NX 503 .V55 1996
Peterson's Professional Degree Programs in the Visual and Performing Arts. 2000.
    2 North Reference NX 303 .P52 
The Visual Resources Directory.  2 North Reference N 4039 .V58 1995

GUIDES AND BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Action Art:  A Bibliography of Artists' Performance from Futurism to Fluxus and Beyond.  2 North Reference NXZ 5936 .P47 G73 1993
American Women Artists.  2 North Reference NZ 7963 .A75 T84 1984 & 1989
Art Books:  A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists. 
    2 North Reference NZ 5938 .F73 1997
Art Information and the Internet:  How to Find It, How to Use It. 
    2 North Reference N 59 .J66 1999
Arte Chicano:  A Comprehensive Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965-1981. 
    2 North Reference NZ 5961 .U5 G64 1985
Fine Arts:  A Bibliographic Guide.  3rd ed.  2 North Reference NZ 5931 .E47 1990
Handbook of Latin American Art:  A Bibliographic Compilation.  2 v. 
    2 North Reference NZ 5961 .L3 H36 1984 
250 Years of Afro-American Art:  An Annotated Bibliography.  1981. 
    2 North Reference NZ 5956 .A47 I38
Women Artists:  An Historical, Contemporary and Feminist Bibliography.  2nd ed. 
    2 North Reference NZ 7963 .A75 B32 1994
Worldwide Bibliography of Art Exhibition Catalogs, 1963-1987.  3 v.
    2 North Reference NZ 5939 .W675 1992
Art Research Methods and Resources: A Guide to Finding Art Information.  2nd ed., rev. and enl.  2 North Reference N 85 .J64 1984

ILLUSTRATION/REPRODUCTION SOURCES

Fine Art Reproductions.  2 North Reference N 4035 .N48 1994
Haddad's Fine Arts.  7th ed.  2 North Reference N 4035 .H32 1994 & Suppl.
Illustration Index.  1957-1996.  2 North Reference N 7525 .V3
Mythological and Classical World Art Index.  2 North Reference N 7760 .R63 1991
Picture Researcher's Handbook:  An International Guide to Picture Sources and How to Use Them.  5th ed.  2 North Reference N 4000 .E8 1992
Printworld Directory.  Current.  2 North Reference NE 491 .P77
World Painting Index.  1977, 1982 & 1995.  2 v. & supp.  2 North Reference ND 45 .H38

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Art Index.  1929-Current.  2 North Index Area NZ 5937 .A78
ARTbibliographies MODERN.  1970-1999.  2 North Index Area NZ 5935 .A7
Bibliography of the History of Art:  B.H.A.  1991-Current.  2 North Index Area NZ 5937 .B53
R.I.L.A.:  International Repertory of the Literature of Art.  1975-1989.  15 v. & indexes 
2 North Index Area NZ 5931 .R2

The following Electronic Resources are available to CSUS users and can be accessed through the Library's Databases and Periodical Indexes page found at http://db.lib.csus.edu/databases/
Art Full Text: For CSUS users only.
Ebscohost:  For CSUS users only. 
Lexis-Nexis:  For CSUS users only. 

PRACTICAL SOURCES

Artist's & Graphic Designer's Market:  Where & How to Sell your Illustration, Fine Art, Graphic Design & Cartoons.  Current.  2 North Reference N 8600 .A75
Artist's Handbook of Materials and Techniques.  2 North Reference ND 1500 .M3 1991
Artist's Resource Handbook.  2 North Reference N 8600 .G69 1996
Business of Art.  2 North Reference N 8600 .B875 1998
Fine Art:  Identification and Price Guide.  3rd ed.  2 North Reference N 8675 .T48 1996
Fine Artist's Career Guide.  3 North N 8350 .G73 1998
Graphic Artist's Guild Handbook.  9th ed.  2 North Reference NC 1001.6 .G7 1997
Great Jobs for Art Majors.  3 North N 6505 .C33 1997
Taking the Leap:  Building a Career as a Visual Artist.  3 North N 8350 .L36 1998

SYMBOLISM IN ART

A Dictionary of Pictorial Subjects from Classical Literature:  A Guide to Their Identification in Works of Art.  2 North Reference N 7760 .P68 1983
A Dictionary of Symbols.  2nd ed.  2 North Reference CB 475 .C513 1991
A Handbook of Symbols in Christian Art.  2 North Reference N 8010 .S54 1975b
Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art.  
2 North Reference  N7740 .H35 1994
Oriental Art:  A Handbook of Styles and Forms.  2 North Reference N 7260 .G6713 1980
Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art.  2 North Reference N 7740 .C29 1995

TERMS

Artspeak:  A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords.  2nd ed. 
    2 North Reference N 6490 .A87 1997
Baroque Art:  A Topical Dictionary.  2 North Reference N 6415 .B3 E18 1996
The Culture Vulture:  A Guide to Style, Period, and Ism.  2 North Reference N 7560 .D86 
Medieval Art:  A Topical Dictionary.  2 North Reference N 7850 .R67 1996
Renaissance Art:  A Topical Dictionary.  2 North Reference N 6370 .E27 1987
The Language of Art from A to Z: Writ in Plain English.  3 North N 33 .L346 1997
Illustrated Dictionary of Art Terms: A Handbook for the Artist and Art Lover.  
3 North N 33 .R49 1984
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms.  2 North Reference N 33 .L82 1984

SOME WEB RESOURCES FOR ART

WorldImages Kiosk
http://worldimages.sjsu.edu
The Varo Registry of Women Artists
http://www.varoregistry.com
Archives of American Art (Smithsonian Institution)  
http://www.siris.si.edu
ArtCyclopedia
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/
ArtSource  
http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html

Fine Art Forum  Click on journals to see electronic journals in art.
http://www.msstate.edu/Fineart_Online/art-resources
Mother of All Art History Link Pages  
http://www.art-design.umich.edu/mother/

Virtual Libraries Museums Pages
http://www.icom.org/vlmp/
ArtLex:  Art Dictionary
http://www.artlex.com/
The CeramicsWeb
http://grafik.sdsu.edu/index.html
World Wide Arts Resources
http://wwar.com/

ART PICTURE COLLECTION

This collection is located in cabinets on 2 South. A variety of mounted art reproductions are available for classroom or studio use.

SLIDE COLLECTION

The CSUS Library maintains an extensive collection of slides. These materials are indexed in Eureka and available in the Slide Collection in Room 1526, Library Media Center.


Return to Top of Page

Return to CSUS Library Databases & Periodical Indexes

Send questions, comments or suggestions to: Alicia Patrice alicia.patrice @ csus. edu

Copyright@2001-2007 Alicia Patrice- California State University, Sacramento

Updated:

html by Lynn O'Farrell